Rugby Championship: New Zealand and South Africa declare opening wins

Codie Taylor scores a try
Codie Taylor scored two of New Zealand’s eight tries
New Zealand: (21) 57
Tries: Ioane, Retallick, Savea, Taylor 2, Reece, Jordan, Havili; Pen: McKenzie; Cons: Mo’unga 5, B Barrett 2
Australia: (15) 22
Tries: Kellaway 2, McDermott; Pen: Lolesio; Cons: Lolesio 2

New Zealand started the Rugby Championship with a report victory in opposition to Australia to assert the Bledisloe Cup, whereas South Africa beat Argentina of their opener.

The All Blacks’ 57-22 win at Eden Park was their highest ever factors tally in opposition to the Wallabies.

In a while Saturday, world champions South Africa defeated Argentina 32-12 in Port Elizabeth.

New Zealand ran in eight tries to seal a nineteenth straight Bledisloe Cup win.

Their match doubled because the second in a three-Take a look at collection in opposition to Australia, who haven’t overwhelmed the All Blacks at Eden Park since 1986.

The Wallabies – who misplaced 33-25 within the Bledisloe Cup opener on 7 August – have been six factors behind at half-time however a flurry of second-half scores sealed New Zealand’s bonus-point win in a fast-paced, thrilling encounter.

New Zealand received a Tri-Nations occasion in opposition to Australia and Argentina in 2020, with South Africa absent due to an absence of taking part in time in the course of the pandemic.

South Africa: (21) 32
Tries: Reinach, Fassi, Hendrikse; Pens: Jantjies 5; Con: Jantjies
Argentina: (9) 12
Pens: Sanchez 4

In distinction to the All Blacks’ show of operating rugby, 17 of the Springboks’ 32 factors have been scored from the tee by fly-half Elton Jantjies.

South Africa made sweeping modifications to their crew after the earlier week’s Take a look at collection win in opposition to the British and Irish Lions, with solely 5 of those that began in opposition to the vacationers within the XV to face Argentina.

The hosts nonetheless claimed a snug victory, narrowly lacking out on a bonus level after scoring three tries.

Scrum-half Cobus Reinach coated a lot of the pitch in a formidable solo effort, wing Aphelele Fassi claimed Jantjies’ cross-field kick to attain and debutant Jaden Hendrikse additionally crossed simply earlier than full-time.


New Zealand: McKenzie; Jordan, R Ioane, Havili, Reece; Mo’unga, Smith; Bower, Taylor, Laulala, Retallick, Whitelock, A Ioane, Papalii, Savea.

Replacements: Taukei’aho, Tu’inukuafe, Ta’avao, S Barrett, Jacobson, Perenara, B Barrett, J Barrett.

Australia: Banks; Kellaway, Paisami, To’omua, Koroibete; Lolesio, McDermott, Slipper, Paega-Amosa, Alaalatoa, Swain, Philip, Swinton, Hooper, Valetini.

Replacements: Uelese, Sio, Tupou, Salakaia-Loto, Wilson, White, Ikitau, Hodge.

South Africa: Willemse; Nkosi, Kriel, F Steyn, Fassi; Jantjies, Reinach; Nche, Dweba, Louw, Etzebeth, De Jager, Kolisi, Smith, Wiese.

Replacements: Marx, Nyakane, Koch, Orie, Van Staden, Du Preez, Hendrikse, M Steyn.

Argentina: Carreras; Delguy, Chocobares, De La Fuente, Moroni; Sanchez, Ezcurra; Tetaz Chaparro, Montoya, Gomez Kodela, Petti, Kremer, Matera, Isa, Bruni.

Replacements: Bosch, Muzzio, Medrano, Lavanini, Alemanno, Bertranou, Miotti, Cancelliere.

Around the BBC - SoundsAround the BBC footer - Sounds

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments